Vrystaatse stryd teen eentalige naamgewing

Access full-text article here


Peer-Reviewed Research


English: Regarding language policy, the new South African Constitution (1996) recognised eleven official languages while clearly stipulating that measures should be put in place to raise the historically diminished usage and status of the indigenous languages. This article analyses the expectations and vigilance of white Afrikaans speakers regarding the future status and use of their language and the sensitivity and antagonism of the new rulers concerning any signs and remains of a colonialist past. The ANC’s attempt at enforcing unilingualism is analysed, as well as how concessions had to be made on both sides.